The best assessment of our law practice comes from our past and current client reviews. Read more about what they say about our service and expertise. 

RELIABLE • AFFORDABLE  EFFICIENT  KNOWLEDGABLE  INFORMATIVE • STRATEGIC  1,000 STARS • GREAT RESULTS • THE BEST IN SF


Daniel Bornstein and his team are top notch handling every aspect of property law in the Bay Area. Considering they are one of the toughest and roughest players in the game these reviews show just how remarkable of a job they do for their clients. They have so much experience on all sides of these issues that I can’t imagine many coming close to matching them. I have worked a lot with one of their managers, Jonas Judd. He has an incredible wealth of experience and knowledge about every aspect of landlord and tenant problems. There isn’t much he hasn’t seen and he takes pride in knowing more about managing properties than anybody I have met in the business. He not only gets the issues, but understands the best approach to take to get them resolved successfully.
— Aaron B., San Francisco, CA, January 2016

Daniel Bornstein is the ABSOLUTE BEST! He is timely, concise, effective and a pleasure to work with. He took my unique subtenant nuisance case and resolved it in 14 days. He knows this area of law from top to bottom and is the definition of an expert. A few weeks later after our case was closed, Daniel also helped us with an unfair eviction motion filed by my current property management company. He quickly identified the falsities and put together a plan for me. Everything he helped me with resolved in my favor. I respect his tenacity and passion and would recommend him to anyone with an issue in this area of law. He and his team are rockstars!!
— Victoria B., San Francisco, CA, August 2015

I tried to handle a situation with a tenant myself and was getting very frustrated. Then I tried working with an attorney in Alameda County who came highly recommended but was very rude to me and not very helpful. Finally, I asked an attorney who represents tenants and that attorney told me that Daniel Bornstein is the best - fair to tenants and effective for landlords. Daniel told me exactly what to do. He helped me understand my responsibilities as a landlord and my rights. He negotiated a fair settlement with my tenant’s attorney. His fees were minimal because his strategy and approach worked. I highly recommend him. Recently a friend of mine inherited a San Francisco property. The tenant was outrageous and trying to take advantage of her. I referred her to Daniel Bornstein. She has now reported to me that he did great work. She is able to manage the situation, stop the abuse of process, and sell the building to a family that needs it. Daniel is the best! He is ethical and tough. He knows how to negotiate a win/win solution to landlord tenant disputes.
— S.D., San Francisco, CA, August 2015

Being a landlord in SF is a bit like being a registered sex offender: everyone hates you! As if the volcanic explosion in real estate prices were the fault of landlords and not, say, the fact that the city isn’t building enough affordable housing! It’s like owning a property is a crime! Which is where Daniel Bornstein comes in. There’s so much animosity and so many crazy laws and regulations yadda yadda yadda, that you, as a landlord, need legal counsel to protect yourself. Daniel B. is smart, calm, and possesses a voluminous knowledge of landlord/tenant law, real property law, city codes. He knows everything. I found out about him through a free seminar at Fort Mason, which was super helpful. It’s so complicated now, more than even 10 years ago, and SF tenant laws are tough, so I don’t feel like I can just wing it anymore.
— K. V., Portland, OR, June 2015

I’m a real estate agent in San Francisco, and when my clients have questions about landlord tenant issues, Daniel Bornstein is always the one I turn to. No one understands the complex, ever changing laws the way he does. Besides being knowledgeable, he is also incredibly responsive. In a business where reaching a lawyer can take days, he is always quick to take the time to provide thorough, proactive solutions. Lastly, I appreciate how straightforward and businesslike he always is. I’d highly recommend him to anyone who needs counsel regarding the intricacies of landlord tenant law.
— Kira M., San Francisco, CA, February 2015

I had a list of recommended RE attorneys including Daniel Bornstein. My husband and I meet with him in late 2013 to help with our first home-rental property. I went prepared with a list of questions and issues. He looked at the list then listened to my husband and I until he got the gist of who we were as people and what our immediate need was. By that I mean, Daniel gets clued in on seeing who his clients are, what our circumstances were etc. so that he can best advise us and make us happy. Essentially, he is like a legal doctor. He wants people to feel better. We consulted his services twice so far and while we were very anxious about our problem, Daniel was like a surgeon, acting efficiently and effectively to solve our problem. It can feel like a big learning curve to keep up with him but this is a guy who knows his stuff and has lots of motivation to do good work. He and his team will be our go to legal (and anxiety reducing) consul in the future too.
— Bron L., San Francisco, CA, December 2014

I have spoken to Daniel Bornstein regarding three matters (one of which handled by another attorney). Communication is concise and effective (which is great when you are paying $380 per hour). I like dealing with him (and his firm), because I can lay out the situation and he’ll fire back a course of action. Since I’ve been around the block with quite a few landlord-tenant disputes, I don’t need the hand holding some of the negative reviewers are looking for. For those looking for a little more guidance, I recommend you schedule time to speak with Daniel Cheung. He is very knowledgeable and patient when it comes to explaining step-by-step procedures.
If you are just looking to reach someone, I suggest that you send them an email first. Then, follow-up with a phone call. I know from personal experience, it’s not the easiest to get a hold of an attorney there. However, they always respond within a day. I have previously engaged the services of Jeff Woo, Shauna Matlin, Steven MacDonald, Karen Uchiyama, and other landlord attorneys. They all have different styles and their individual strengths, but I have found that Daniel has the best balance of professionalism, knowledge, and the aggressiveness necessary to fight these type of battles. I highly recommend them for landlord representation.
— Howard H., San Francisco, CA, November 2014

My wife and I are expecting our first child in October, and as the first few months are by all accounts going to be very tough we are moving near her parents for a while, leaving my condo in the city empty for that time. Coincidentally, a new colleague and his wife had just moved over from India and started work here a couple months ago. They were in a new city far from home and with few resources. I wanted to help, but wary of the complex issues surrounding renting properties in San Francisco I hesitated to do so. I talked to property agents briefly and I thought I’d at least take a few minutes to find an expert in landlord-tenant law to consult, as I’d very much like to help this young couple out if I could – but I needed some solid advice. My place is too important for me to go to any but one of the top firms in the field for advice. I asked and did some research and found Daniel Bornstein and his firm were tenacious and expert advocates and counselors in the field. I persevered, and within a couple days of filling out the contact form on their website I connected with and met with Daniel to discuss my options. I thought through the most important things I wanted to know about before meeting him and within just a few minutes of my appointment I got the solid advice and the reassurance I needed to move forward. It was totally the right decision to seek expert advice. I’m very confident moving forward, and the young couple are very happy at the result and now getting ready to move in!
— Mark B., San Francisco, CA, July 2014

I really like working with David Bornstein. He’s

√ Very fast and efficient
√ Very easy to connect with
√ Very well organized
√ Doesn’t over charge at all
√ Very knowledgeable
— Aaron C., San Francisco, CA, June 2014

Daniel is the best attorney I have ever worked with! He always searches for the best solution possible, as he works in the best interest of his clients. His rates are reasonable, and he is never trying to make money out of his clients.
Recently, when I had a very tough issue with my tenant who was actually trying to force me out of my own house, initially I was represented by a counsel who charged me a lot of money for doing nothing and making things in my case even worse. Luckily, I was introduced to Daniel who resolved my issue, helped me and my family to get back to normal life and saved tens of thousands of dollars for us. He is extremely professional with an exceptional knowledge of real estate and related law, very courteous. I would strongly recommend him if you ever need an attorney to resolve any landlord/tenant and real estate disputes efficiently. It is known that periodically he gives great real state educational speeches to the public and you can check it yourself if needed. If they had 1000 stars, I would rate Daniel with 1000 stars. Again, I would highly recommend Bornstein Law as the best legal shield to all their clients.
— Rousdem D., San Francisco, CA, April 2014

In January, 2014, I sought the services of Daniel Bornstein to compel a subtenant to leave my apartment. Prior to signing the rental agreement the subtenant and I had 3 interviews. In each interview I discussed my expectations of the home environment and the rental agreement in detail. The subtenant voiced no objections to anything we talked about in the entire interview process. After each interview it was also my understanding that said subtenant would be leaving at the end of December, 2013, to continue his studies in Berkeley. After the subtenant moved into the premises many of the ‘facts’ that I relied on to make my decision to rent to him turned out to be false. The subtenant showed no intention of moving on at the end of December, 2013. I had felt uncomfortable in my own home during the majority of his tenancy. I wanted him to leave, as he had led me to believe that he would. I had written the agreement correctly in disclosing that his tenancy did not require a just cause for eviction. That aside, my anxiety was as close to disabling as I can imagine it could get. I have never had to ask anyone to leave before, let alone consider the possibility of a court eviction. I did not want that conflict within my home. Daniel Bornstein recommended a 30-day notice. The subtenant was served a 30 day notice, and he did leave. I doubt the prospect of eviction is a pleasant experience for anyone involved. I found Daniel Bornstein to be straightforward and professional. He was calm and confident, and that calmed me down. His manner and demeanor are respectful. I live on a fixed income and Mr. Bornstein’s fee was more than reasonable. Daniel is highly recommeded by his peers, and I also recommend him to anyone faced with the same situation I found myself to be in. Should I sublet again, I will likely see Daniel Bornstein for a review of my rental agreement regarding other issues related to subletting. Thank-you DB.
— L. P., San Francisco, CA, March 2014

When I purchased my first building in San Francisco, I was not aware that I would be subjected to so many people willing to lie, cheat and steal in order to extort money from me. I have dealt with some pretty shady characters in tough situations, but those were only a training ground for my adventures as an SF property owner and landlord. If you are a multi-unit property owner in SF, you are a target by tenants, contractors and the city itself to get as much of your money as possible by whatever means necessary. The tactics they will use range the full gamut of bullying to vandalism, flat-out dishonesty and threats – even if you are extremely kind and respectful in your dealings (maybe especially so). This is why you MUST have the BEST attorney representing you in all of your legal property affairs in SF. There is no exception. Daniel provided consultation to me when shopping for real estate in SF. He helped me make important decisions that impacted financing, negotiations, and other strategic factors which will ultimately impact me and my family for many years to come. Daniel represented me in a lawsuit with a contractor who was trying to leverage a lien to extort money for services not rendered and/or rendered poorly. Daniel saved me thousands of dollars and put my mind at ease with sound advice. Daniel also represented me in several tenant issues. These types of issues can be very tricky in San Francisco, because the laws and regulations in place to protect people who need assistance are often abused by those who do not need or qualify for the same support. Again, he saved me tens of thousands of dollars and kept me in the power position so I could make sure everyone was treated fairly. His consultations and representation helped me do more than just accomplish my goals – I exceeded my goals and added value to my investments. Collaborating with Daniel was an experience of witnessing mastery in SF real estate law. He was quick to respond and concise in his consultation – he will not waste your time which ultimately saves you money. Daniel is a walking encyclopedia of SF property law – he is up to date with all of the silly and intricate exceptions one must abide by in order to navigate the systems in place. He is a strategic genius: Daniel was always several steps ahead of everyone in the process allowing us to maneuver the issues that came up with much more adaptability than our opponents. It is very simple: Daniel Bornstein is the attorney to go to when needing representation for real estate concerns in SF. He will do everything RIGHT with professionalism, respect and a deep understanding of all factors involved with your case. In my experience working with Daniel, I was able to make it through some very challenging experiences while maintaining composure, respect and value for all parties involved.
— Michael K., San Francisco, February 2014

Daniel Bornstein did an outstanding job for us! As new owners of a multi-unit building we were immediately faced with a host of tenant challenges. We felt helpless in the process, under seige and began to regret our decision to buy. After interviewing a few attorneys of significant reputation we decided to work with Mr. Bornstein who we found very factual and precise. He was able to expertly navigate the situation and educate us as new owners. Mr. Bornstein is a rarity amongst attorneys as he is very cost conscious for his clients and works with laser precision. He was able to bring closure quickly to a difficult and onerous process. I would highly recommend Daniel Bornstein.
— Alex F., San Francisco, CA, July 2013

When selecting the right real estate attorney to work with, I was anxious about what I didn’t know, navigating precariously the many agencies that are involved in any real estate issue in San Francisco. Daniel has worked with us from the beginning and has every day earned more and more respect, confidence and trust. Having worked with corporate attorneys from New York, Harvard Law, Germany, India, I must say, Daniel is amongst the very best! Engage him, it will be the best decision you will make. He is one of the most valuable resources for any real estate matter in San Francisco, CA.
— N.G., San Francisco, CA, May 2013

I’m a new homeowner who worked with Daniel Bornstein on an OMI eviction. Trust me, this is one of the least fun processes in the world, and trying to do this fairly and honestly while abiding by the SF Rent Board Ordinance is incredibly tough. I knew I couldn’t handle this on my own. Daniel Bornstein helped me draft and deliver the appropriate documents to my tenant, and everything worked out with zero complications. He’s incredibly knowledgeable of the San Francisco property laws. As a landlord who is just trying to be honest in a town that favors renters, I found him to be a fantastic advocate. Lawyers are pricey in general, but Daniel’s services were worth it, and his costs were reasonable. Don’t be put off if he sounds terse – he’s really just trying to help keep conversations concise to speed things up. If you’re a landlord and need a lawyer, I would make a trip to Daniel Bornstein’s offices, stat.
— Genevieve W., San Francisco, CA, August 2012

I have retained Daniel Bornstein four times over the past 3 years to represent a building I manage. Though each case was unique, one being a commercial eviction, the other three various types of residential cases, the outcome was the same in each: a judgment in my favor. The real estate laws in this city are byzantine and stacked heavily against landlords; Daniel always explains all the potential outcomes (which I’ve learned are numerous and often counter-intuitive) and helps me reach the best possible one as quickly as possible. He has extensive knowledge of San Francisco tenant law, and explains all the angles to you concisely and responsively by email and phone. In front of opposing counsel, he is direct and to the point–an assertive but pragmatic negotiator who will ensure you get the best judgment possible. As far as I’m concerned, there’s no better hedge against bad tenants than Daniel Bornstein.
— Eli B., San Francisco, CA, January 2011